How To Care For Multi-Textured Natural Hair

16 Oct

My fellow naturalistas, can we talk?

I have come to you for advice on handling my multi-textured natural hair aka Lola. As my hair continues to grow I am realizing there are distinct differences in density and strand thickness/texture in many areas of my hair. The hair at my temples is fine, thin, straight, super fragile and short; one side is literally half the length of the surrounding areas. My sides are coarse and dense. The hair at my nape is also fine while my crown is of a looser texture. 

Because of these differences styling and moisturizing  is a bit of an issue. I feel like I have to treat certain areas of my hair well differently. I  have to be very careful with the temple area because the strands are so fragile and thin they tend to break off (a lesson I learned while taking out my braids). The hair on the sides which is also the coarsest often has issues absorbing products. When I twist my hair the definition around the temples (again the thin area) leaves a lot to be desired in comparison to other areas. I have to admit at times it gets a bit frustrating trying to care for and style these different textures so I am coming to my fellow naturalistas with multi-textured natural for help.

How do you manage your multi-textured hair?

9 Responses to “How To Care For Multi-Textured Natural Hair”

  1. vinegarandwater October 16, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Girl I tought you had the answers lol! I’ve been struggling with that problem all my life. Moisturizing is a huge issue. I have the same problems with snapping strands in different areas but I think i’m going to Henna to get rid of that problem. Styling is so frustrating because I have 3 different textures in one head. Girl I feel your pain. I havent found the solution yet but let the world know when you find the answer.

    • iambarbiedee October 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      I suppose I should have phrased the title of the post a bit clearer, lol! I don’t know exactly how to manage this multi-texture insanity atop my head but rest assured I am going to get to the bottom of what to do! I was thinking about trying henna too, in fact I have a pack that came in this month’s curlBOX. I may just have to try it.

      • vinegarandwater October 16, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

        What’s curlbox?

      • iambarbiedee October 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

        CurlBOX is a monthly subscription service ($20.00) where you are sent 5-7 samples of hair products. Often the boxes contain one or two full size products in addition to the samples. It’s a great way to try different (primarily hair). I have some posts on my blog about it or you can go to http://www.curlbox.com for more info.

      • vinegarandwater October 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

        Oh ok I think I heard about that when I was talking to a lady near the Miss Jessies display in Target but she didn’t know the name of the website. Thanks for the info!

  2. afashionslave October 17, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Your issue may only be solved with trial and error. I have multiple textures scattered all through my hair and my current routine is still pretty basic. You may need a good old fashioned shampoo and deep conditioning treatment.

    What is your routine?

    • iambarbiedee October 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      I use the UR Curly shapoo to deep condition I use the Jessi Curl Island Fantasty. I am using Koils by Natue leave in conditioner and to twist I am using Qhemet Biologics Burdock Butter creme. I have just started using some of these prodcuts but so far my hair (all of it) it is loving this regimen. Although I may switch from the Jessicurl back to Curl Junkie Curl Rehab.

  3. afashionslave October 18, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Maybe try doctoring up one of those conditioners. When my hair used to misbehave I would pour my favorite conditioner into a bowl & then mix in honey, vegetable glycerin, olive oil. Then I would cover with a plastic cap and sit under a dryer for 40 minutes. Finally, I would wait for my hair to cool off before rinsing out. Good luck sis. I’ve been natural for a very long time, but every once in a while I struggle with dry crazy hair.

    • iambarbiedee October 18, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion, I will have to try this!

Leave a Reply

