My Essential Tools for Styling Natural Hair

30 Oct

1. Spray Bottle

2. Butterfly Clips/Clamps

3. Satin Bonnet or silk scarf

4. Silk Pillowcase

5. Plastic caps however, plastic grocery bags will do in a pinch!

6. Turbie Twist, microfiber towel or old (soft) cotton t-shirt

7. Ouchless comb or some kind of detangler comb

8. Double Prong Curl Clips- When I twist my hair I stretch the twist and then use the clamps to keep the  stretched twists in place.

The most essential tool for me has to be my hands. I use them to detangle, to style, to massage my scalp they are essential to my healthy hair journey. I know a lot of other naturals use bobby pins, scrunchies, curl formers, etc… but at this stage I don’t use any of those tools perhaps as I continue my journey they will be added to my list.

                                                                                                                                                                              What are your must haves?

2 Responses to “My Essential Tools for Styling Natural Hair”

  1. vinegarandwater November 1, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I was almost checked out but i’m missing the silk pillow case.

    • iambarbiedee November 1, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      I only recently invested in a silk pillowcase. For a long time I felt my twa underneath my scarf was enough.

Leave a Reply

