Stop… Henna Time!

30 Jan

I finally did it, I hennaed and indigoed my hair! Go me, go me!

I’d been contemplating hennaing my hair for quite sometime but was hesitant, tired of plucking the gray hairs from my temples I figured it was time to give henna a try. I purchased my henna and my indigo from Henna Sooq, after reading really good reviews of the company. I purchased the Lush Brown Kit which contained 100 grams of Organic Rajasthani henna (you can pick from various types of henna) and 100 grams of indigo. I also purchased a sample of the Henna Sooq Sweet Honey Shampoo Bar and an 8oz container of the Sweet Honey Enriching Hair Nourisher.  I will review those products in another post but for now let’s talk henna.

I kept my henna mix really simple, I used lemon juice to release the dye and a little extra virgin olive oil for moisture and to help the henna rinse out easier.

My mixture is lumpy in the pic but I did smooth it out more before applying.

My mixture is lumpy in the pic but I did smooth it out more before applying.

I made my henna mixture around 7AM and didn’t apply it until around 11PM that same evening. Because it was so late, I applied the henna to my hair then wrapped my hair in saran wrap, a plastic cap, and then my scarf and went to bed.

Hope you didn't think you were going to see me with saran wrap on my head...no ma'am!

Hope you didn’t think you were going to see me with saran wrap on my head…no ma’am!

When I woke up I rinsed out the henna and created my indigo mix. I had read that henna can be incredibly difficult to rinse out however, I had no trouble removing the henna from my hair. I think because I added the evoo to my mixture and I didn’t apply the henna very thickly.

IMG_0939

My indigo mix, this stuff smelled incredibly earthy kind of like grass?

IMG_0943

IMG_0942

Do you see how black my hair is, “Yeah boy”(Flava Flav voice). I kept the indigo in my hair for 4 hours. I wasn’t a fan of the smell but I applied it to my hair, saran wrapped and plastic capped and donned my scarf again. This stuff stains!  My black and gray pillow cases definitely had spots on them so be careful. I rinsed out the indigo, co-washed with Trader Joe’s Nourishspa then deep conditioned with the Henna Sooq  Sweet Honey Enriching Hair Nourisher. Since henna treatments can be drying I deep conditioned for around 2 hours.

My results!

IMG_0945

IMG_0944

Although it doesn’t seem that way in the picture my hair was pretty black, it had a bit more hang (possibly imagined) and less frizz. I am definitely going to start incorporating henna into my regimen, primarily for the color. However, I do have fine hair around my nape and sides so hopefully it will help with that.  My hair did feel a bit dry even with the deep conditioning, nothing too serious.  Next time I’ll  try a different deep conditioner next time and make sure to co-wash a little more frequently in the subsequent weeks after a henna/indigo treatment. Also, I didn’t use the whole 100 grams or henna or indigo so I have enough for another treatment, YAY!

Do you henna?

One Response to “Stop… Henna Time!”

  1. oakanni21 July 17, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    Thanks for your review! I’ve been thinking about incorporating henna into my regiment. If you need a deep conditioner suggestion I tried an avocado hair mask that makes my hair feel great! I’ve got the “recipe” on my blog: http://thepaintedmane.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/avocados-this-stuff-works-miracles/ Thanks again love!!

Leave a Reply

